Share This Post

Warhammer C&C - Combat

Troop Types and Basics in Warhammer: Chaos & Conquest

Troop Types and Basics in Warhammer: Chaos & Conquest

Updated 2019-11-06 with new Renown and Tier 2 units 🙂

What’s going on ladies and gents, Randy here with another guide for Warhammer: Chaos & Conquest. Today we are reviewing the 8 different troop types, the 5 different tiers of troops, and the basics you need to know.


There are 8 Main Troop types. Each troop type is strong against another troop type, and weak against another. Right now our Combat Theory goes like this, although this has not been proven yet:

  • Infantry, Monstrous Infantry
    • Strong vs Cavalry, Chariots and Monstrous Cavalry
    • Weak vs War Beasts, Monstrous Beasts
  • Cavalry, Chariots and Monstrous Cavalry
    • Strong vs War Beasts, Monstrous Beasts
    • Weak vs Infantry, Monstrous Infantry
  • War Beasts, Monstrous Beasts
    • Strong vs Infantry, Monstrous Infantry
    • Weak vs Cavalry, Chariots and Monstrous Cavalry
  • Monsters
    • Strong vs All
    • Weak vs None


There are also 5 tiers of troops, and each tier increases the power of each troop. You will see that it looks a little unbalanced, with Tier 5 troops absolutely dominating and almost triple the power of Tier 4 troops.

  • Tier 1 troop power: 4
  • Tier 2 troop power: 10
  • Tier 3 troop power: 25
  • Tier 4 troop power: 60
  • Tier 5 troop power: 150


You can unlock different tiered troops every couple levels, and The Keep Level milestones that you want to pay attention to are as follows:

  • First Tier 1 troop available:
    • Keep Level 1
      • Marauder
  • First Tier 2 troop available:
    • Keep level 5
      • Marauder horsemen
  • First Tier 3 troop available:
    • Keep level 14
      • Chaos Giants
  • First Tier 4 troop available:
    • Keep level 21
      • Gorebeast Chariot
  • First Tier 5 troop available:
    • Keep level 30
    • Skullcrusher of Khorne

It makes sense to me to “leapfrog” keep levels to hit these milestones, because of the huge discrepancy in troop power level as you progress up the tiers.

What that means is you jump from level 1 to 5 ASAP, then catch up your buildings while you train Tier 2 troops. Then you leapfrog up to keep level 14 ASAP, then catch up buildings while you train Tier 3 troops, and so on.

That’s it for the troop basics guide today ladies and gents, I will do more detailed posts for each troop type down the road, and also review what each troop stat is used for.

Here is a chart you can use for your reference, containing all troops and their stats, level requirements, etc.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>